Board of directors

Ralph Patmore
Chairman and previously the lead independent non-executive director
Years of service to the Group: 10 years

Ralph holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree, a Master of Business Leadership degree from Unisa’s School of Business Leadership degree, and has attended the Executive Programme at Stanford University, USA. He is an accredited associate of the Institute for Independent Business International. Ralph was a co-founder of JSE Main Board listed Iliad Africa Ltd and served as CEO for 10 years from 1998 until his retirement in 2008. Prior to joining Iliad, Ralph held various executive positions including as Managing Director of subsidiaries within the Unihold and Malbak groups, and as a director of Everite Ltd. He currently serves on the boards of several listed companies, including Mustek Ltd, Calgro M3 Holdings Ltd, Accentuate Ltd and Unicorn Capital Partners Ltd. Ralph is also an Institute of Directors (“IODSA”) director training facilitator and presents training in many fields, including finance for non-financial managers.
William "Billy" Neasham
Chief Executive Officer
Years of service to the Group: 20 years

Billy qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1980 and has been involved with ARB Electrical Wholesalers since 1988 as the audit partner and professional advisor, initially with KPMG, and then with Griffith & Aiken. Billy joined ARB in June 2000 as the financial director responsible for the high level of financial discipline instilled throughout the group, a position he held until he was appointed as CEO in February 2015.

Grant Scrutton
Chief Financial Officer
Years of service to the Group: 5 years

Grant qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1986 at KPMG and spent two years in their Seattle, USA office on a rotational exchange programme. He was previously the financial director of four listed companies including Voltex, Powertech, SACMH and Winhold, and brings a wealth of operational as well as financial, strategic, acquisitions, and turnarounds experience managing diverse self-standing operations to the group, including 19 years in the trading environment.

James S Dixon
Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairman of the Risk Committee
Years of service to the Group: 4 years

James qualified as a Chartered Accountant with PricewaterhouseCoopers and retired in 2009 after 40 years’ service. He was the engagement partner on many of the firm’s larger clients, led their KwaZulu-Natal Assurance practice and represented the region as a member of the National Assurance Executive. James also serves as the independent Chairman on the Combined Motor Holdings Ltd Board.

Prior to his appointment as the independent chairman on the Combined Motor Holdings Ltd board, James served as the chairman of their audit committee for seven years. James also holds directorships in various property investment companies and consults to small businesses. James has also been an active member of the KZN committee of the Audit Committee Forum for many years.

Simon Downes
Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairman of the Remuneration Committee
Years of service to the Group: 12 years

Simon has 35 years’ experience in the financial and general management of entrepreneurial companies, with core experience in manufacturing, property investment and administration. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant and completed his articles with Pim Goldby (now Deloitte). In 1984 he achieved an MBA from the Graduate School of Business at the University of Cape Town, and is also a fellow of The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. Simon is the Executive Chairman and sole shareholder of Shave & Gibson Group (Pty) Ltd, an independent manufacturer of board packaging largest manufacturer of security printed products in Africa. He is the immediate past chairman of the board of directors and a trustee of Clifton College where he served for 20 years, as well as the past chairman of Centenary Homes for the Aged. He is the founder of, and chairs a number of NPO Trusts, and has served as chairman of the KZN Water Polo Association for a decade.

Theo Botha
Theo was appointed to the board with effect from 6 April 2021, with the appointment to be approved by shareholders at the next annual general meeting. He served articles at (now) PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) in 1986, and since 2002 has run his own consultancy specialising in corporate governance commentary. Theo is also a member of CRISA (Committee for Responsible Investing in South Africa), and a director and shareholder in Proxy-View (Pty) Ltd. He previously served as a director of Piotrans (Pty) Ltd (Rea Vaya 1a) and Litsamaiso (Pty) Ltd (Rea Vaya 1b), and was a trustee of Peermont Chamber of Commerce Trust.


11 February 2021

ARB Holdings reports strong half-year performance more

11 February 2021

Interim results December 2020 more